Why I’m Excited To Read RUINED by Amy Tintera

Thanks to Epic Reads awesome FIRST5 program I got a chance to preview the first five chapters of Amy Tintera’s upcoming fantasy RUINED. Read below for the official synopsis from GoodReads:

Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war. She lacks the powers of her fellow Ruined. Worst of all, she witnessed her parents’ brutal murders and watched helplessly as her sister, Olivia, was kidnapped.

But because Em has nothing, she has nothing to lose. Driven by a blind desire for revenge, Em sets off on a dangerous journey to the enemy kingdom of Lera. Somewhere within Lera’s borders, Em hopes to find Olivia. But in order to find her, Em must infiltrate the royal family.

In a brilliant, elaborate plan of deception and murder, Em marries Prince Casimir, next in line to take Lera’s throne. If anyone in Lera discovers Em is not Casimir’s true betrothed, Em will be executed on the spot. But it’s the only way to salvage Em’s kingdom and what is left of her family.

Em is determined to succeed, but the closer she gets to the prince, the more she questions her mission. Em’s rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life—and her family—on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

(RUINED will be available on May 3, 2016.)

Revenge. Royalty. Magic. Lies. Secrets. Dangerous Romance. I’m already hooked! As a fan of Tintera’s dystopian duology, Reboot, I’m eager to see her try her hand at a fantasy book. So just based off the synopsis and five chapter preview, here are four reasons why I’m excited to read RUINED!

Read More »

7 Questions We Need Answered in The Crown

In one week Kiera Cass’ The Selection series will come to a bittersweet end with the release of the final book, THE CROWN. *cue sobbing* It’s been a wonderful five years following this amazing, heartfelt, and highly enjoyable series. If you haven’t read this series GO DO IT NOW! You still have time to catch up on this fairytale-esque romance with a great cast of characters and a bit of humor that keeps the story lively and fresh. The Selection series is unique because it spans three generations of characters between all the books and novellas. Here is a quick rundown of how you should read the series:

The Queen (novella)
Book 1: The Selection 
The Prince (novella)
Book 2: The Elite
The Guard (novella)
Book 3: The One
The Favorite (novella)
Book 4: The Heir 
Book 5: The Crown
With the end so near, a re-read of THE HEIR was necessary. So before the royal farewell to the Selection series can truly happen (*sniff* I’m not ready!), here are seven questions that we desperately need answered in THE CROWN.
*WARNING: The rest of this post contains spoilers for the Selection series!*

Read More »

5 Reasons Why The Wrath and the Dawn Is A Must Read

Last year Renee Ahdieh flew into the YA scene with her gorgeous debut, The Wrath and the Dawn, that took readers on a journey of revenge, mystery, and love. This retelling inspired by the Arabian tale, A Thousand and One Nights, has become a YA favorite of 2015 and left many begging for more (myself included!). In just three days Ahdieh’s highly anticipated sequel, The Rose and the Dagger, will (FINALLY!) be coming to a bookstore near you. In case you’ve been immersed in your TBR pile and haven’t read this book yet, let me tell you five reasons why The Wrath and the Dawn should move to the top of that tower.

Read More »